HIP's Mission is rooted in improvement: of systems, quality, relationships, and access to care. HIP creates opportunities for local healthcare leaders to make our community healthier.


  • We provide a neutral table or platform--a nexus--where leaders can and do convene.

  • We help leaders tee up, focus on, and constructively address issues that are beyond any one organization's capacity or domain, yet affect all of us.

  • We build trust and transparency to make these conversations possible and productive.

  • We seek out and bring transformative ideas and relevant, cutting-edge training to make our community and its residents as healthy as possible.




Stephanie Sonnenshine, President

Chief Executive Officer

Central California Alliance for Health


Leslie Conner, Vice President
Executive Director
Santa Cruz Community Health


Dori Rose Inda, Treasurer
Chief Executive Officer
Salud Para La Gente

Monica Martinez, Secretary

Chief Executive Officer

Encompass Community Services

Nanette Mickiewicz MD, Member at Large
Hospital President
Dignity Health Dominican Hospital

Mimi Hall, Member at Large


County of Santa Cruz Health Services Agency

Stephen Gray, Member at Large

Chief Administrative Officer

Sutter Maternity & Surgery Center


Barbara Johnson
Director of School of Nursing
Cabrillo College Student Health Services

DeAndre James

Chief Executive Officer

Community Health Trust of Pajaro Valley

Gail Newel MD

Public Health Officer

County of Santa Cruz Health Services Agency - Public Health

Laura Marcus

Executive Director

Dientes Community Dental Care

Dean Kashino MD

Medical Director

Dignity Health Medical Group

Rudy Escalante

Chief Executive Officer

Janus of Santa Cruz

Humaira Ahmad

Regional Operations Director

Planned Parenthood Mar Monte

Melissa Burke
Manager of Local Government Relations
Stanford Children’s Health

Larry deGhetaldi MD

Division President (Santa Cruz)

Sutter Palo Alto Medical Foundation

Keisha Browder

Executive Director

United Way of Santa Cruz County


Jon Walther MD

Medical DirectorSCEP/Watsonville Emergency Department

Watsonville Community Hospital: Medical Staff

Susan True

Chief Executive Officer

Community Foundation Santa Cruz County


Amy Peeler

Chief of Clinic Services

County of Santa Cruz Health Services Agency - County Clinics

Randy Morris


County of Santa Cruz Human Services Department

Greg Whitley MD

Medical Director

SCEP/Dominican Emergency Department

Dignity Health Dominican Hospital: Medical Staff

Cathy Conway

Chief Executive Officer

Hospice of Santa Cruz County

Sam Bajaj

Chief Operating Officer

Kaiser Permanente San Jose & Santa Cruz

Jeannine Rodems MD
Board Chair
Santa Cruz County Medical Society

Patrick Shields MD
Medical Director
Department of Hospital Medicine, PAMF/Dominican
Sutter Maternity & Surgery Center: Medical Staff

Dan Brothman

Chief Executive Officer

Watsonville Community Hospital



Elisa Orona, MS

Executive Director

(831) 305-1060 ext. 1061

Shelly Barker MS, RD, CDE

Program Director
(831) 305-1060 ext. 1063

Anaïs Muller Cohn

Operations and Program Coordinator

(831) 305-1060 ext. 1067

Please reload

Maritza Lara, MS, BSN, RN

Program Manager
(831) 305-1060 ext. 1064

Rita Hewitt, MPH, CPhT

Program Manager

(831) 305-1060 ext. 1065

Amy Mancia

Program Assistant

(831) 305-1060 ext. 1009


Please reload

Contact Us

© 2020 By HIPS.